The Diocesan Museum of the Archdiocese of Cosenza is located between the Archbishop’s Palace and the Cathedral, in those rooms that were once part of the premises of the Diocesan Seminary. It serves as a link between past and recent history and constitutes a point of reference which allows to go back in time and revisit past and to discover aspects of the present time in its best and sometimes unknown aspects. It represents an ideal base to explore and discover the city and learn more about the vast Archdiocese, as it gathers in a single place precious and famous artifacts coming from the Cathedral and other local churches.
The first room contains artworks coming from some churches of the Diocese, including the beautiful altarpiece of the Annunciation (1545), School of Negroni, belonging to the Church of Turzano today called Borgo Partenope.
This is followed by the Hall of “Assignments” that collects paintings, silverware, vestments commissioned by the Archbishops of Cosenza throughout the centuries. Worthy of mention: the cup known as “the Pope”, great work of filigree and silver coming from Marano Marchesato, the two ivory statuettes attributed to the school of Michelangelo and the vitreous 16th century chalice from Celico.
The hall of vestments, with significant artifacts from the 17th century, still kept in good conditions, gives access to a long corridor where there are four wooden statuettes of the cathedral treasure and a Crucifix of the 15th century.
This corridor brings us to the heart of the Museum: a semicircular hall which houses the precious reliquary-cross or staurotheque, a unique work in embossed gold, vermicelli filigree, enamel and rock crystal dating back to the 12th century. According to tradition, it was donated by Frederick II of Swabia on the occasion of the consecration of the Cathedral in 1222. Ever since it has become the emblem of the city.
In the great hall below you can see the chalice “Torquemada” of the 15th century and grasp the profound Marian devotion expressed by icons of the 16th century, 17th and 18th centuries paintings and part of the rich treasure of Our Lady of the Pilar, Protector of the City and the Archdiocese, with golden crowns, precious stones and jewelry.
The last room, the Art Gallery, contains the splendid painting of the Immaculate Conception by Luca Giordano (17th century), the precious San Gennaro by Andrea Vaccaro (17th century) coming from Luzzi, and the evocative paintings of Our Lady by Giuseppe Pascaletti (18th century).
traduzione di don Domenico Sturino